Makin’ yogurt from scratch? You bet I am.

yogurt-finished

We go through a lot of yogurt in our house. I mean a lot.  The one who goes through the most is, suprisingly, the person who otherwise eats almost nothing: little Charlotte, my skinny, food-rejecting toddler. Let me repeat: the kid eats almost nothing.

But yogurt? Yes. She will eat as much yogurt as we give her. If there is yogurt in front of her, Charlotte transforms into a curiously bottomless pit.

We go back and forth on how comfortable we are with this. In general, we believe in eating what the rest of the family eats. But we also believe in eating, something that has never come naturally to Charlotte. This is child that after two days of illness looks like knobby-jointed waif, her knees thicker than her thighs. This is a child that can’t wear most elastic-waisted pants in her age, because they simply fall off of her nonexisitent butt. We worry about her, worry about the effect that, say, a particularly virulent stomach bug could have on her nutrition stores and overall well-being.  So, yeah. We generally let her eat yogurt in abundance, especially if it is a non-M&M-enhanced brand like Stonyfield Farm or Brown Cow.

Yogurt is simply fermented milk; healthy bacteria (probiotics) are introduced, which curdles the milk and releases lactic acid. From what I understand, this makes yogurt easier for many people to digest than milk, and the increased acid helps fend off pathogens that would spoil milk quickly. All commercially available yogurts include, by definition, the probiotics Lactobacillus bulgaricus and Streptococcus thermophilus. Other brands add extra cultures. Brown Cow adds  L. acidophilus and Bifidus.   Stonyfield Farm adds those, plus also L. casei, and L. rhamnosus.

Those healthy bacteria make yogurt wildly healthful. More healthful than I ever realized. I mean, I knew about yogurt’s potential benefits to bone health, its calcium and protein and B-vitamins. But friends, did you know about yogurt’s immune-boosting properties?  This shiz is amazing. In one study, published in the peer-reviewed Journal of Nutrition, lab animals fed a conventional diet with or without lactobacillus casei, one of the “friendly bacteria,” were introduced to S. pneumoniae, a not-so-friendly bacteria (responsible for pneumonia and bacterial meningitis). All groups of animals given lactobacillus casei recovered much more quickly, with significantly less damage, than the control group. Another study, on healthy women in their twenties, showed that these friendly bacteria significantly boosted their T lymphocytes, enhancing their immune response (this was published in the peer-reviewed Annals of Nutrition and Metabolism).

Yogurt is great for other reasons, too. It appears to lower your LDL (think “lousy”) cholesterol and raises your HDL (think “healthy”) cholesterol. It appears to lower one’s risk of colorectal cancer, assist with arthritis healing, protect against ulcers, lower blood pressure, and even freshen your breath. All of that, save for the fresh breath thing,  comes from studies published in peer-reviewed journals. So, you know. You don’t have to take my word for it. You have the word of people far, far more credible than I.

But here’s the thing: for all its benefits, I’ve been feeling less and less comfortable every time I buy cartons of this stuff. Yogurt containers have always been hard to recycle (they’re made from #5 plastic). Now that the bottom has dropped out of plastic recycling altogether, I feel like a big ol’ jerk buying so many containers that I know are bound for the landfill. That, combined with my newfound Greatest Depression frugality and my desire to learn some new skills, has got me making yogurt from scratch.

Crazy? Nah. It’s easy. Crazy easy.

Electric yogurt makers  allow you to make yogurt without much thought. These aren’t expensive, and it’s possible that I’ll get one in the future. I don’t have one yet, though, and have been able to make yogurt without much problem. Here are the basic steps I use:

1. Heat four cups milk until it froths (185 degrees F).

Real cooks recommend a double-boiler, so your milk doesn’t burn. I don’t have one, so I just stand there and stir. It’s about 5 minutes, no biggie. Most dietitians recommend using low-fat milk; personally, I use whole milk. I find that the whole milk yogurt fills me up much, much more, and for a longer period of time, than low-fat products. (and besides, I’ve become close enough to commenter Anna that I know she’d have strong opinions were I to do it any other way).

2. Cool milk to around 110-degrees F (lukewarm, slightly warmer than body temp).

This takes about an hour or so, with occasional stirring.

3.  Take some yogurt “starter,” place into a sterilized bowl, and add your warm milk.

I used Yogourmet starter for my first batch, which I purchased at my local food co-op for $5.69 (that amount contained six envelopes of starter, enough to make six batches from scratch). Just mixed it with a touch of the warm milk until it dissolved before adding the rest of the milk. Since that first time, I learned that I don’t need the fancy freeze-dried starter; I simply need a large dollop of plain yogurt with active cultures. The trick here is that you simply need something with enough live cultures to get the whole process gets moving. If you use yogurt, use plain yogurt that is as fresh as you can find, so you’ve got a good quantity of active live cultures.

Note: it’s very, very important that you don’t add milk that is too hot, or too cold. Too-hot milk will kill the cultures; too-cold milk won’t get anything moving.

4.  Keep warm, let sit, let it happen.

If you don’t have a yogurt maker, maintaining the correct level of warmth is the only challenging part. The process works best if the bowl of milk and starter sits at a temperature of about 110-degrees for many hours. An electric yogurt maker guarantees that temperature. Other methods that I’ve heard recommended include:

- let the bowl sit on an electric heating pad

- let it sit overnight in the oven with the light on

- place the bowl in an icebox filled with jars of hot water

Me? I went for a half-assed way, because that, friends, is how I roll. But lo and behold, the half-assed method worked for me, as it so often does. I filled a big pot with warm water, placed the bowl inside the pot (it had a slight rim, so sat beautifully, almost like a double-boiler), and periodically replaced the water in the pot.  Here is Merrie talking on the phone to her grandmother, with yogurt fermenting in the foreground:

yogurt-set-in-bowl

A couple of notes:

1. I do not recommend letting the bowl sit atop of your woodburning stove, uncovered. When it comes time to blow some air on the waning fire, you will scatter ashes everywhere, making your yogurt taste disturbingly like charred wood.

2. Using the official Half-Assed Method, it took about eight hours for the milk to become fully solid; during the first six hours, the milk stayed very liquidy. “Not working,” I muttered each time I checked it. “Damn, still not working.” And then suddenly, miraculously, “Hey! It’s working! Holy cow, it’s really working!”

3. I’m told you shouldn’t use ultra-pasteurized milk, as that won’t taste as good. I use a local brand of milk.

4. Don’t plan on eating your yogurt right away. Once it becomes yogurt, stick it in the fridge and cool it off. Warm yogurt = not-so-appetizing. Yuck.

5. If you should double the amount of milk, remember to double your yogurt starter. This is common sense; unfortunately, lots of us some of us a couple of us I don’t always have it.

6. Homemade yogurt is thinner than most commercial brands (most commercial brands use pectin or gelatin as thickening agents). It doesn’t bother me, but if it bothers you, you can add some powdered milk to thicken it up.

7. And how does it taste? Terrific, if I do say so myself. Creamy, rich, insanely yummy when mixed with some local honey or maple syrup  So good that at my first taste, I was like, “mmm. This is freakin’ dessert!”  So good that Charlotte now asks specifically for “Mommy’s yogurt.” So good that I made it again the next day, and then again the next. So good that I might just buy a yogurt maker and make this a part of my daily routine, same as making a pot o’ coffee or putting Merrie’s lunchbox together. Got recommendations as to the perfect yogurt maker? I’m all ears.

Yogurt! So easy! And so good for you! Who knew?

(lots of you did. I didn’t. Now I do. And I’m thrilled).

33 Responses to “Makin’ yogurt from scratch? You bet I am.”


  1. 1 Todd Smith February 25, 2009 at 10:03 pm

    Me too! Been making yogurt from scratch every night for years. Did you know that the longer yogurt sits the more acidic it gets. Fresh yogurt (made that day) gives you probiotics without too much acid. And it tastes wonderful! :)

  2. 2 Carrie February 25, 2009 at 11:12 pm

    We love our homemade yogurt. I started making it from scratch when I became concerned with how much sugar the store bought brands have. (yes, even the “healthy” ones) I bough the cheapest yogurt maker I could find on Amazon ($13) and it works like a champ. All my steps are the same as your’s but I pour the cooled milk/starter mixture into the yogurt maker and let it do it’s thing. We like tart yogurt so we let it go for 10 to 12 hours before refrigerating.

  3. 3 Laura February 26, 2009 at 12:30 am

    I have my own maker, too and faithfully make it each time I run out. I love it because it reminds me of when I was little and my mother would make ours. She started doing that because I wouldn’t eat anything as a child. And she didn’t want the sugars, etc that commercial brands came with. I eventually opened up to other food sources and finally my thighs were bigger than my knees!

  4. 4 nono February 26, 2009 at 1:44 am

    Finally a food topic I have experience with!! Well kind of…

    My father was Lebanese, and I grew up eating Lebane, which is an Arabic Yogurt Dip that my mom made. Very similar to the Greek Yogurts that you see starting to appear at the markets now. The difference between American Yogurt and Lebane, is that Lebane is drained. My mom used to make American Yogurt, and then once it was ready would put it into a white cotton pillowcase, and hang it from the faucet in the laundry tub to drip overnight. It would then be super thick and creamy. After refrigerated, we then spread it on a platter and drizzle it with Olive Oil, and eat it with toasted Arabic bread (American Pita bread.) To this day, I still eat it regularly…it’s one of my favorite comfort foods.

    Also, the Arabs put regular plain yogurt (called Leban – no “e”) on rice, grape leaves, kebe and a bunch of other foods. My kids now love it on rice as well (after watching me eat it)…mixed up and mushy, it’s wonderful. :)

    I didn’t know there was such a thing as a yogurt maker…I’m going to have to get one, they sound wonderful and super easy!!

  5. 5 Anna February 26, 2009 at 2:12 am

    Oh, you are sooooo cultured now, Ali :-) Isn’t this culturing/fermentation thing a kick? Every time I try something new like this I feel like I just created a mini-miracle, then I remember that my great-grandmother did this sort of thing too and she only had a 5th grade education. Smacks me back into reality, yes, but gives me great insight into how smart our “uneducated” ancestors really were.

    I’ve also ditched the commercial yogurt habit,except for a container of plain whole milk yogurt every so often to get a new batch for culturing. I was buying Strauss, but my new favorite is one from Northern Cal that comes in little foil topped ceramic crocks you can reuse or return for a deposit refund! The foil always has a little layer of golden butterfat clinging to it, yum! http://www.stbenoit.com .

    BTW, if you are impatient to get your milk cooled down so you can add the starter (I often lose track of time and forget until it’s too cold), put the bowl or pan in a sink of cold water for faster cooling.

    If you want thicker yogurt, instead of adding dry milk powder (I’ll spare you the details of why I don’t like dry milk powder), try straining off the whey (clear liquid) with a coffee filter in a funnel or filter holder or one of those yogurt strainer containers. Strain a little or a lot (result is sort of like tangy cream cheese).

    The whey liquid has protein and vitamins, so don’t toss it. Keep it in the fridge (it keeps for weeks at least) and add tablespoon to the oatmeal you soak overnight (helps to neutralize the phytic acid in grains and it cooks faster). I also add whey to fruit smoothies, soup broth, etc. Pigs and chickens love it, I understand, though I couldn’t get my cats o drink it (they don’t like milk, either).

    Extra credit – make yogurt cream! Just use heavy cream (NOT ultra-pasteurized, of course) instead of milk with your yogurt starter or some of of your previous batch. So….incredibly yummy or dessert! I often mix half cream and half whole milk now. Your skinny little one WON”T get fat on this, but it will give her some good energy. If you have milk that you know comes from cows on pasture (so much isn’t pastured anymore), the butterfat is also rich in vitamin K2, which is important for healthy teeth and bones (along with magnesium, calcium, and, you guessed it, Vitamin D3).

    More extra credit – coconut milk yogurt! use full fat coconut milk Canned or homemade), not “lite” or reduced fat, of course. Made the same way as dairy milk yogurt, but you only have to heat to 125°F, then cool to 110°F (so fast). I also add a tsp or two of raw honey or maple syrup to feed the bacteria, because coconut milk has no lactose for them to consume. This will come out runnier than dairy yogurt; I just culture it at least 8 hours (often 24) and stir it up. Use it for smoothies or drink a small glass. It’s great poured over fresh berries. I think the coconut oil is a great source of energy; coconut milk yogurt’s my afternoon pickmeup lately.

    My Salton yogurt maker seems to be running a bit hot lately, and the temp isn’t adjustable. Peter of the Hyperlipid blog likes the Easiyo, which uses hot water in an insulated container around container of milk and starter (he also cultures his cream a long time). I might give Easiyo a try. The Easiyo dry mix packets are NOT recommended (dry milk powder).

  6. 6 Amber February 26, 2009 at 2:44 am

    I just got a yogurt maker from Williams Sonoma for my birthday last week, I’ve been experimenting with it. I really think it’s delicious, and waaay more economical than buying it from the store. I hate giving my baby the stonyfield yobaby yogurt, it contains so much sugar! I sweeten mine with agave nectar. Thanks for doing this post, I lost the instructions to my yogurt maker and this will work perfectly.

  7. 7 Andrea Cherie February 26, 2009 at 3:22 am

    Ok, cheap yogurt maker is the next kitchen gadget to purchase. I like the sound of that $13 one off Amazon!

    We have a local dairy nearby that sells raw milk, can’t wait to try this!

  8. 8 Anna February 26, 2009 at 4:30 am

    Andrea,

    I’m a big fan of raw milk. But I still heat the milk when I make yogurt (it’s a much gentler heating process than the high heat, high pressure industrial pasteurization). I heat the milk because when making yogurt (and some fresh cheeses) I don’t want the natural probiotic bacteria in the milk to compete with the yogurt culture bacteria. It is possible to make raw yogurt, but I found the results aren’t always consistent enough.

  9. 9 andrea February 26, 2009 at 5:48 pm

    I just converted to yogurt making about a year ago, I use raw milk from a nearby farm (VERY whole–sometimes when I don’t feel like making butter or scones with the cream I make creme bulgair, that is cream yogurt–and try not to think of my arteries closing down as I lap it up!)…and follow your basic recipe only my half-assed method is even more half-assed–I pour the cooled/warm milk into jars with the tablespoon or so of yogurt (or yogurt starter); put on lids; place in a pan of hot tap water and put the whole thing in a styrofoam cooler (it says Omaha Steaks on the top–I have no idea where it came from, but it keeps the temperature steady with no changing of the water–I have even forgotten my yogurt overnight and it’s still warm the next a.m.–much more sour, but not bad)…oh and my kids LOVE to eat warm yogurt right after it’s done. My oldest was like your Charlotte–never ate anything (but always liked yogurt)…it’s amazing how the assortment of unhealthful-bordering-on-toxic offerings from the school cafeteria have expanded his palate!

  10. 10 Anna February 26, 2009 at 6:16 pm

    For those worried about naturally saturated fat in cream and whole milk clogging their arteries (a hint, it doesn’t, and the fat is necessary for Vitamin A & D absorption), check out the well-researched documentary (& funny) movie Fat Head: You’ve Been Fed a Load of Bologna, by Tom Naughton. It’s available at Amazon and other places to buy, and on Netflix.com to rent. Watch it with the whole family, then forget all the baloney you ever heard about natural fats for the past 60 years.

    http://www.fathead-movie.com/

    If that doesn’t convince you, read science journalist Gary Taube’s excellent book, Good Calories, Bad Calories to see the history of the “science” that spawned the low fat hysteria.

    The only thing that worries me about cream and butter is running out. Same for eggs. I panic when I’m down to the last container. An my coronary calcium scan score was 0, no plaque in my coronary arteries.

  11. 11 Susan Hagen February 26, 2009 at 8:16 pm

    I bought a yogurt maker and love it. Go to Amazon and search for YoLife Yogurt Maker. It does come with little glass jars but has a high domed lid so you can use quart mason jars or a big bowl instead. I used to use a heating pad with a bath towel tent to incubate yogurt and salt rising cultures but my old one burnt out and the new ones all have a safety shut off after about an hour of use. This yogurt maker made a great substitute.

    I don’t like sweetened yogurt. I like it sort of runny with a pinch of salt and drink it like you would buttermilk. I also like to drain it in a coffee filter and use it as a dressing for meats and vegetables. It’s great on cucumbers or kibbe, a middle eastern meatloaf made of lamb.

  12. 12 Jennifer (ponderosa) February 27, 2009 at 6:40 am

    My sister & I have been having a debate over whether commercial yogurts are comparable nutritionally to a really good natural vanilla ice cream — say Breyers. Ice cream has more fat but yogurt has more sugar. Ice cream doesn’t have the bacterias, of course.

    I think this is the solution for us: home-made yogurt! I’ve been wanting to make it for a long time but am a little afraid of poisoning my family. Can that happen?

  13. 13 Maribeth February 27, 2009 at 2:17 pm

    Yum, Yum. We make yogurt from a recipe we got from our good friends over at Caretaker Farm. Cricket Creek Farm raw milk keeps it very local. Unfortunately, the man of the house here really likes the small containers of Stoneyfield Farms whole milk blueberry yogurt. I cringe every time I see the containers in the trash.

  14. 14 monique February 28, 2009 at 2:44 am

    would if be okay if i happen to stop by with my ice cream maker next time you make some?

  15. 15 Zip n Tizzy February 28, 2009 at 5:57 am

    I find it hard to believe you never watched Monty Python.
    Remember the 125 year old woman?
    It was the yogurt!

    My T is a non-eater and we know those knobby knees. Unfortunately he has given up yogurt. Fortunately he eats a bit more than he used to.

    But yes, yogurt is a regular staple for the rest of us, and I do have a yogurt starter, just haven’t gotten up the nerve to use it.

  16. 16 Vikki March 1, 2009 at 3:12 pm

    We are a family of vanilla yogurt eaters. Can you add vanilla and slightly sweeten it or does that wreck everything?

  17. 17 Sara March 2, 2009 at 7:24 pm

    UHP milk won’t ever thicken – those poor proteins have been so badly beaten up durring the pastuerization that they can’t form the colloidal net anymore.

    I love fresh homemade yogurt with just a drizzle of honey, or some apricot jam. And yes, it is a lot thinner than storebought, but over all it is just so mild and delicious that it really dosen’t matter. My half-assed method: pour the innoculated milk into tupperware, put in an ice chest in the bathtub, fill the chest half way up the sides of the tupperware with hot water, close and let sit 8-12 hours.

  18. 18 Todd Smith March 2, 2009 at 9:17 pm

    Hi Ali,

    I’m slow getting caught-up on my correspondence. You asked if I eat the yogurt warm. I make it at night and then take it out of the yogurt maker when I wake up. I let it cool down to room temperature by lunch when I eat it. You could put it in the fridge, but yogurt is a bit heavy and digests better when it’s not cold.

    Here’s how I make fresh cheese every night too:

    http://www.toddsmithphotography.com/emails/081127.html

    I’ll have to do something similar with how I make butter and ghee someday.

    Love your blog, Ali (and you too)! :)

  19. 19 mojavi at Simple Things March 4, 2009 at 7:18 am

    ooooo yum!!!!! I am soo gonna try this.. Have you seen how to make homemade mozzarella and ricotta… the girl at Razor Family Farms has a wonderful tutorial I am going to try along with this one :)

  20. 20 kate March 4, 2009 at 8:46 am

    funny, this is the second time i’ve read about yogurt making at home this week! i think i’ll try it out tomorrow. i really can’t justify spending so much on the large tub of greek style yogurt that i dollop onto just about everything, from fruit salad to nachos, these days. i’m going to try straining mine to get that thick consistency. mmmmmm. i hope it works!

  21. 21 Piper March 21, 2009 at 4:37 pm

    Hello! :) My name is Piper and I’m a uni student down in VA. I wanted to say that I absolutely love your blog (it makes me feel all warm and Little House in the Big Woods inside). I”m always looking for ways to boost my immune system (echinacea is wonderful) and after reading this post, I did some research on yoghurt (more sugar than ice-cream, what?!). The very same night I ordered a yoghurt-maker from Amazon (Easiyo, non-electric) and it came yesterday. Today, as I type this to you, I have the delicious flavour of fresh-homemade yoghurt in my mouth! :) It was so easy! I used skim (because that’s what I drink) milk from Trader Joe’s (not the organic sort–being a poor uni student and all) and probiotic, fibre-enhanced raspberry yoghurt as a starter (hey–that’s what I had on hand–but next time I will go for plain probiotic). To make a long story short, I now have a quart of perfect yoghurt–very fresh-tasting, not too tart and surprisingly firm. I’m so excited! Thank you for writing about your adventures and inspiring me to do it myself. :)

  22. 23 Anna March 21, 2009 at 5:32 pm

    Piper,

    I’ve got the Easiyo now, too (I don’t buy the packet mixes, though) and it’s making excellent yogurt, both with milk and with coconut milk. It’s great to have a non-electric option, too, though a way to boil water is necessary.

  23. 24 dorisandjilly April 16, 2009 at 10:36 pm

    Great minds think alike! Thanks for the great explanation of why it works. I posted a “Homemade yogurt FAQ” at the end of my post on making your own yogurt, in hopes of helping out new yogurt-makers. But it really is an art, not a science.

    http://dorisandjillycook.com/2009/02/24/yogurt-everyday/

  24. 25 Alicia March 9, 2010 at 5:29 pm

    I don’t have a yogurt maker but I just started to make it in my crockpot!! I’m telling you it is SIMPLE! You just put the milk in the crockpot for 2 1/2 hours on low covered. Turn the crockpot off. Leave it for 3 hours. Then take out 2 cups of the warm milk add 1/2 cup of plain yogurt mix it together then add it back to the crockpot. Cover again, wrap big towel or blanket around it and leave it for 8 to 9 hours sitting on your counter. Easy and delicious!!!! If you want it thicker just like you said add powdered milk or you can strain out some of the whey. That way you can save your money for something else you want to buy than a yogurt maker.

  25. 26 Harold March 16, 2010 at 9:13 pm

    I have started making, and much prefer, yogurt from whole, raw milk that has not been/is not ‘pasteurized’ (heated to 185 degrees). I put 1/2 gallon minus 1 cup of raw milk into a wide mouth 1/2 gallon jar. Than jar goes on top of a trivet in my spaghetti cooker and the pan filled to within a couple of inches of the top with water. Place it all on a burner over medium heat (I don’t let the water temp get over about 135 degrees while stirring the milk constantly). As soon as the milk reaches 110 degrees it is removed from the water bath and 1 cup of ‘starter yogurt’ is added and stirred in well. (I used Stoneyfield for my first batch but since then have used starter from the latest batch to make the next.) The jar is tightly capped and placed in a warm place for 12 to 14 hours (I use my oven, with the light on and the door propped open slightly where it stays about 90-95 degrees inside.)

    This yogurt has a different consistency but I have found that it mixes well with just about any fruit and especially well with fresh papaya. Enjoy.

  26. 27 Fran April 12, 2010 at 5:37 pm

    Informative. Thanks very much.

  27. 28 Bill May 3, 2010 at 2:10 am

    If anyone out there is daunted by the cost of some of these better yogurts, help is on the whey…. ooops, way. You can make just about any available yogurt that has active cultures in it for as little as $2.50 a GALLON!

    Try my website and see for yourself: http://mryogurt.info/

    Bill

  28. 29 Richard June 20, 2010 at 1:15 am

    Hi,
    I have been making Yoghurt for several years now. I used all those traditional methods- heating the milk etc. waiting till it cooled. Then I realised that UHT milk comes in convenient packaged units (1 liter in Australia)pre-sterilised. If you put the box of milk into 800 mls or so of boiling water ( about 4/5ths of the volume of milk) and leave it 15 minutes they will cool to about 40 C (104F) and you can put that in your Yoghurt maker (crockpot- insulated chamber or whatever)with your starter. I use 1/4 pack of easiyo greek base and a couple of tablespoons of milk powder to make a real thick yoghurt. Another tip if you intend to make yoghurt cheese is to up the milkpowder. I have also added full cream to the cheese and it makes for something special- but not especially healthy I expect.

  29. 30 Bill June 22, 2010 at 9:17 pm

    Yeah, I have tried making yogurt every which way and using my Waring Pro yogurt maker which is thermostatically controlled is the easiest. And the yogurt turns out perfectly every time.

    BTW, to cool the milk, I place it in a large soup pot which is set in a dishpan with cool water in it. Instead of taking an hour or so to cool down, it does so in minutes.

    For a gallon of yogurt, I probably spend no more than 15 minutes total – the yogurt maker does the rest.

    And I use a crock-pot to warm the milk to 190F overnight…. even a greater time savings.

    Bill

  30. 31 Tulin July 4, 2010 at 5:22 pm

    I’ve been making my own yogurt from raw pasture raised goat milk. I only heat the milk to 115 as I don’t want to kill the enzymes in the milk. It makes the cooling process so much quicker. I just set my pot of heated milk on my cool marble island top and in about 15-20 minutes, it’s at the right temp to add my starter (from store bought yogurt). I put it in my oven with a 60 watt light bulb on and 24 hours later, I have some fabulous yogurt! I’ve been doing this for a couple of months now and so far so good. The yogurt comes out great and my 11 month old twins are loving it (plain)! I usually make 6-8 quarts so that I don’t have to make it again for another week but am wondering about the acidity that Todd mentioned. Hope I’m not putting too much acid into my babies!

    • 32 Bill July 4, 2010 at 8:38 pm

      Wow, that is impressive! Making 6 – 8 quarts is out of my league, at least for now.

      I made some part soy milk yogurt this morning and it turned out less than firm although when I took the jars out they were firm as custard. Soy is the only milk that has given me any trouble. I probably should wait 8 or more hours before putting it in the fridge.

      One question I have, Tulin, why do you cool your milk down at all when 115F is the proper temperature to incubate yogurt?

      Thanks, and our website is http://mryogurt.info/

      Bill
      “Mr. Yogurt”


  1. 1 Monday best of last week: link style « The Misadventures of Kelly and Kelly Trackback on March 2, 2009 at 8:24 am
Comments are currently closed.



Archives


Crazy Hip Blog Mamas Web Ring

Join :: List :: Random

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

