My sister, the Oscar winner

Oh, yeah. BIG HUGE OSCAR WIN for my sister last night. To the so-many-of-you who have sent happy notes of congratulations, my thanks, and hers, too. At some point, I might add to this post a video of me watching her win – but try to imagine me screaming, wide-eyed, “Wooooooooooo! That’s my SISTER! THAT’S MY SISTER!!!!” and you’ll basically get the idea.

(and to all you parents out there: if you’ve got a kid who pretends to do commercials for Wella Balsam shampoo in the bathtub, or who insists on wearing the same Laura Ingalls costume to school EVERY SINGLE DAY of third grade, then cheer. Because you just might see that kid on the red carpet someday).

19 Responses to “My sister, the Oscar winner”


  1. 1 Meredith February 26, 2008 at 2:32 am

    THAT IS AWESOME! Congratulations!

  2. 2 karen February 26, 2008 at 2:37 am

    Totally cool!! I’d have been screaming and calling everyone I know! Wahoooo!

  3. 3 nyjlm February 26, 2008 at 2:52 am

    wow! congratulations! I loved watching them come up for their Oscar, and the emotion of their acceptance speech.

  4. 4 Greg February 26, 2008 at 3:44 am

    She is definitely your sister. Wow.

    Again, for the third time today, congrats on your genetic connections to someone who has hugged Tom Hanks.

  5. 5 jenniwd February 26, 2008 at 3:50 am

    I forgot about Wella Balsam Shampoo ads in the bathtub but never the Laura Ingalls third grade. Who knew?

    Equally Hoarse Mom

  6. 6 the Mater February 26, 2008 at 11:59 am

    This is great, one degree of separation from Tom Hanks. Cynthia was glowing and the pub was rocking, I’m sure. Jenn and I were jumping with you, the next town over.

    Mama Wade, what a night for all of you! Family pride and memories of Little House on the Prairie. Even then, eh?

  7. 7 Kai February 26, 2008 at 2:53 pm

    Congrats on the win! VERY cool!

  8. 8 Vikki February 26, 2008 at 3:03 pm

    I had already gone to bed when this category came up but I am so glad you posted the video. I am sitting here, at work, so completely and utterly moved (and unfortunately, weeping).

    Congrats to you all…

  9. 9 Mir February 26, 2008 at 3:20 pm

    Wow!! Congrats to your sis!

  10. 10 pamelotta February 26, 2008 at 4:06 pm

    Congrats! You should have heard my husband when I told him. Talk about the “degrees of seperation” thing. He was saying, “So that’s the girl you sent the hot sauce to? Hmmmm. And her sister got an Oscar?”

    I’m sure he’ll be using that one at parties!

  11. 11 frugalmom February 26, 2008 at 6:36 pm

    YAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY!!!!Congrats to her!

  12. 12 Velma February 27, 2008 at 12:43 am

    That is amazing! Congrats to your sister and I’ll be looking for it on Cinemax!

  13. 13 Fairly Odd Mother February 27, 2008 at 1:09 am

    Oh, what wonderful news! Congrats to your sister!!!! Hooray!!!!!

  14. 14 Expat Chef February 27, 2008 at 3:32 am

    That’s amazing. A talented family!

  15. 15 Katieface February 27, 2008 at 4:23 am

    Yay!! How wonderful! By the way, you Wade girls are definitely related…that great smile looks familiar! :)

    xokatie

  16. 16 Jenn February 27, 2008 at 5:11 pm

    I wet my pants and am fairly certain I woke up my mom’s neighbors. The next Oscar will go to you for Best Food Screenplay and/or Wholesome Craft Service on a Movie Set, when they realize how important it is not just to serve Angelina Jolie and her moppets Skittles.

    Yay, Cynthia! Woooooot! Woooooot! She totally rocked that dress. Beyonce, you have been served.

  17. 18 andrea March 4, 2008 at 2:18 pm

    Congratulations again!


  1. 1 What I did on my summer vacation, by Ali « Cleaner Plate Club Trackback on June 29, 2009 at 5:19 am
Comments are currently closed.



Archives


Crazy Hip Blog Mamas Web Ring

Join :: List :: Random

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

