Take the High Fructose Corn Syrup challenge

Yeah, yeah, I know. You’re trying to eat better, trying to feed those kids better, and you’re finding it difficult.

And some of you never feel full. Or you find yourself eating even when you’re not full. And what you find yourself eating? Not always so good. Ah, yes. This is because you live in America, land of processed food in boxes, of omnipresent vending machines, of gas stations that stop selling gas, because the real money is in snacks. It’s also the land of high fructose corn syrup.

I have two high fructose corn syrup challenges for you. Here’s the first:

Challenge #1: Pick up random items in the grocery store. Soft drinks, sure. Even things like juice “cocktails.” And while you’re at it, try tomato sauce. Ketchup. Cookies. Crackers. Soups. Yogurt. High fructose corn syrup is in lots of these items, perhaps most. Indeed, a remarkable number of products contain high fructose corn syrup.

Is that a problem, you wonder? Maybe. No, wait. What I mean is Yes, definitely, but it may or may not be for the reasons some think.

High fructose corn syrup (HCFS), this thing that we eat an average of 63 pounds of each year, is a corn-based sweetner. It’s heavily processed, using various mechanical processes and the addition of at least three enzymes. The end product has a higher fructose content than table sugar (HFCS is generally 55% fructose and 45% glucose, though apparently the fructose content can be higher. Cane sugar’s ratio is 50/50). That difference may be important. Or it might not.

But wait. First the “why?” Why so much HFCS?

Food manufacturers love the stuff, because it:

1. Mixes easily with other ingredients.
2. Extends shelf-life of processed foods.
3. Helps prevent ice crystals and freezer burn.
4. Helps breads to brown, and it keeps them soft.
5. Is as much as 20% cheaper than other sweeteners, thanks to our agricultural subisidies.

So, what’s the problem? Dr. Mehmet Oz, author of You: The Owner’s Manual, made big news when he appeared on Oprah and told audiences that they should stop consuming HCFS. Dr. Oz says that the higher fructose content means that our bodies process HFCS differently than other sugars:

One of the biggest evil influences on our diet is the presence of high-fructose corn syrup (HFCS), a sugar substitute that itself is a sugar found in soft drinks and many other sweet, processed foods. The problem is that HCFS inhibits leptin secretion, so you never get the message that you’re full. And it never shuts off gherin, so, even though you have food in your stomach, you constantly get the message that you’re hungry.

Lots of folks, from the Weston A. Price Society to the AARP have said similar things, noting the very strong correlation between HFCS and obesity. Here’s Nina Planck’s take:

Intake of high fructose corn syrup grew by more than 1,000 percent between 1970 and 1990, far exceeding changes in consumption of any other food. The rise of corn syrup mirrors the increase in obesity. Fructose also raises insulin, blood pressure, and triglycerides…stop eating all forms of industrial corn.

Others argue that the problem isn’t HFCS itself, but rather the added calories that would come from any sweetened foods. The New York Times reported last year that the folks who made the original HFCS-obesity connection have sinced backed off from it.

Here’s what Marion Nestle has to say:

I view corn sweeteners as an especially inexpensive and ever present form of sugar(s), but nothing more sinister…if corn sweetners have anything to do with obesity, it is surely because processed foods are loaded with them, and lots of people are eating lots more of such foods.

In other words the problem may be that there’s something inherently wrong with HFCS, and how a body processes it (it gets converted to fat faster, and your “I’m full” mechanism gets shut off). But it may simply be that this otherwise harmless ingredient is associated with crappy, low-nutrition foods that people eat in huge amounts (there’s a great article, covering research into both theories, here).

My take on it: Who cares? Let’s just not eat it.

And that’s my High Fructose Corn Syrup Challenge #2: Stop consuming things with high fructose corn syrup. Just swear it off. I can almost promise you that you’ll lose weight and feel better. It’s possible that this is because there’s something inherently evil about the stuff. Or maybe it’s simply because by making HFCS a no-no ingredient, you will eliminate about 90% of the junky foods that would otherwise wind up in your shopping cart.

If nothing else, think of high fructose corn syrup as a giant red flag that says “I’m heavily processed! I’ve lost most of my nutritional value! The people who made me took the cheap way out, because they care more about profits than quality! You don’t want to eat me!”

Seriously. At the very least, you’ll avoid a boatload (or rather, a cartload) of unhealthful things. And, who knows. If all that research bears out, you might (1) decrese the amount of triglycerides (fat) released into your bloodstream, (2) increase the hormones (insulin, leptin) that give the “I’m full” signals to your brain, and (3) decrease the production of hormones (ghrelin) that increase your appetite and hunger. In other words, you might be less hungry, and what you eat will convert to fat less readily.

Currently, there are plenty of label readers, like this one, who go out of their way to avoid the stuff. It’s even got its own category on 43 things.

A warning: it’s harder to avoid than you might think. I recently picked up a carton of Newman’s Own lemonade at the food co-op. The second ingredient? HFCS (Paul, baby. You disappoint me).

For a great, different perspective (literally) on HFCS? Check out this Sprol post (I love this guy. He gets one of my tags for the thinking blogger meme).

44 Responses to “Take the High Fructose Corn Syrup challenge”


  1. 1 boogiemum June 20, 2007 at 5:11 pm

    Count me in… I think that may be really difficult to do, but I am up for a challenge.

  2. 2 Meredith June 20, 2007 at 5:28 pm

    Great post! About a year ago, I started a concentrated effort to eliminate HFCS and hydrogenated oil from our diets. This has proved most challenging and I had to start calling it a phase-out rather than an elimination because these two items seem to be in everything. I even got my dad in on the no HFCS kick.

    The kids griped about switching brands on some of their favorite items but they got over it pretty quickly. Overall, we feel great. We aren’t hungry or thirsty all the time. We are all a little leaner and we don’t really miss the junk food. (OK, sometimes we do but not enough to go out and buy it.)

  3. 3 frugalmom June 20, 2007 at 6:53 pm

    Count me in. We pretty much are on that road anyway, but a challenge makes it all the more fun! We have eliminated most of it…I have to say there it is really hard to begin…but once you begin it becomes easier. It really is a lifestyle change…not just “a diet”.

    • 4 Annette March 17, 2010 at 7:25 pm

      I recently just learned about this regarding a video I stumbled upon called the diet solution. It said to stop eating the immmitation butters, and bad oils, along with HFCS, and Hydrogenated oils! I too had to change EVERYTHING about what I was eating, my granola cereal, my fit and active stuff, special K, granola bar, nutrigrain bars, yogurt, graham crackers, skinny cow ice cream bars, Aunt Millie’s wheat bread, light popcorn, PB! Then you mix in the foods with hydrogentated oils and you have a hayday finding foods to eat. They even talk about how Canola oil is bad too so emilinating all three of those is very hard! We went to Trader Joes and tried to go everything organic, and checked the labels on everything! After working out I have switched to just eating fresh fruit, baked potatoes, or lara bars! We did also find some cookie mix that are all natural and a gluten free brownie mix that did not contain oany ot this stuff but it is hard to cahnge everything about how you eat! Mixing this in with my husbands low choloesterol low sodium diet we pretty much have to cook everything we eat! Nothing processed, or fried in out house anymore!

      • 5 Carrie April 25, 2010 at 12:44 am

        My family is going down this road as well. It seems overwhelming at first, because you really do have to completely change the way you eat as a family. Not just the food, but the preparation methods, planning, shopping, and mind-set. It has helped me to go back to the way people ate before the industrial revolution — say 100 years ago. Flour in a recipe meant whole wheat flour. There was nothing else. I was terrified to make pancakes without a mix, but they are wonderful. And even with most mixes you get a bowl dirty, so you might as well make them from scratch. It’s very easy to get trapped in the expensive, prepared, “whole” foods market. It’s getting to be big business just like processed foods. Great-grandma didn’t have Trader Joe’s. She had flour, milk, egss, butter, meat, vegetables, lard, olive oil, yeast, sugar, fruit, a few pots, pans, and utensils. She also had a coal or oven-fired stove in most cases, and limited refrigeration. I was scared to make my own pancakes. I can’t even imagine getting up to start the fire for the days cooking.

        In the end, we actually prepare far less food, because we don’t feel hungry all the time. There is no need for snacks, and our grocery dollar goes a lot farther. Now that I only buy basic ingredients, I don’t spend time clipping coupons, and wandering up and down all the grocery store aisles. Even shopping is faster, simpler, and easier. It’s tough during the transistion, but the result is an easier and much healthier way to manage food.

  4. 6 Kai June 20, 2007 at 7:34 pm

    I’m in too, but for me it will definitely a phase out process. My local grocery store doesn’t carry many non HFCS products so I will have to hunt for alternatives.

    Eating healthy should NOT be this hard!

  5. 7 pnuts mama June 21, 2007 at 3:56 am

    i’m in- i just checked the newmans caesar dressing and the croutons we used in our salad this evening (with CSA organic romaine) and the dressing has CS. grr. everytime i think we are doing better i learn of just one more way we need to improve.

    was wondering in the US do the labels *HAVE* to say HFCS on the label? or can “sugar” mean HFCS? b/c we have one cereal that lists sugar as the ingredient, not HFCS. the other cereal lists CS.

    and please, can we ban chocolate from this challenge? cause i won’t be able to do that. i’m sorry. we’ve cut back on junk so much but i can’t live without some chocolate.

  6. 8 pamelotta June 21, 2007 at 4:35 am

    I’m in! I just got groceries today, and I have to say, looking at some of the labels in my pantry, I did pretty good. However, the area that I think will be our downfall is the condiments. I was really surprised. My husband uses Heinz 57 on everything and HFCS is the second ingredient. My kids love barbecue sauce and ketchup and those both have HFCS as the first or second ingredient. And the ketchup has both HFCS and CS. I guess we’ll be limiting our use of condiments.

    Also, here in the south, Dr. Pepper is a very popular soft drink. It used to be made in Dublin, Texas, with pure cane sugar, but now, of course, it’s made with HFCS. At 9.5 teaspoons of sugar per 12 oz. serving, that’s a lot of sugar to consume at one time.

  7. 9 Her Grace June 21, 2007 at 10:28 am

    I’ve been at this for a while now, but MAN is it hard. Especially for children’s products, sadly. It’s nearly impossible to find a cracker or a cup of yogurt that isn’t loaded with the stuff at my local grocery store, but that’s why God made food co-ops, right?

    I’m in on your challenge. I’ve been trying, and now I’ll try just that much harder!

  8. 10 deliberately June 21, 2007 at 10:35 am

    We’re also on the same path to reduce and remove corn syrups and trans fats completely from our diets. You can pretty much plan on turning the television completely off if you have small children, because the world is working against you. Any 1/2 hour segment on kid’s television (up to and including PBS) will be sure to introduce your young’uns to cocoa pebbles or captain crunch, so beware.

    And also, plan on going to your farmers market more often. It might be one of the only ways you can eat!

  9. 11 Niki June 21, 2007 at 1:27 pm

    I’m definitely going to make an effort. I can’t promise anything until after the baby is born – I mean I’m pregnant and I HAVE to eat the occasional ice cream sandwich – but after that I’m all over it.

    Thought you might find this article interesting since it is right up your alley:

    http://www.phawker.com/?p=4179

  10. 12 cleanerplateclub June 21, 2007 at 3:07 pm

    Pnuts – yes, “sugar” means cane sugar (so does “evaporated cane juice” – that’s euphamism at work right there) – HFCS needs to be labeled as such.

    Per Wikipedia, corn syrup is mostly glucose. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Corn_syrup. It’s still a sweetner, still need to be careful, but because it’s a little less ubiquitous, and apparently less sweet/more expensive than HFCS, and doesn’t have some of the other features that enhance HFCS’s value in processed foods, I’m gonna’ choose not to include regular corn syrup in the HFCS Challenge. Judgement call, but I say let’s keep this simple.

    It is really hard, though. And, yeah, it’s especially true with kids.

    Pregnant women and chocoholics, you do what you need to to get by! (but on the chocolate note, I’ll say I find a small amount of higher quality chocolate WAY more satisfying than a lot of poor quality chocolate. I’ve gotten to the point where I just don’t even like Hershey’s kisses anymore. Which I’m glad about, since they’re everywhere!).

  11. 13 Vikki June 21, 2007 at 3:12 pm

    I am a big label reader and HFCS is one of the things that I look for and avoid.

  12. 14 Anna June 21, 2007 at 4:21 pm

    Eeeeeuuuwwww! Hershey’s kisses and bars are like brown wax. Even Hershey’s dark “Special” chocolate is too sweet and not quite right. High quality dark chocolate is where it’s at. I’m thankful for Trader Joe’s numerous sources of reasonably priced dark chocolate. It’s our main sweet, except for homemade cheesecake & ice creams.

    One commenter noted the high content of HFCS in condiments. So true. So many of these are actually easy to make at home without HFCS (or much sugar of any sort, either). Dana Carpender’s Low Carb cookbooks have fast, easy recipes for low sugar catsup, BBQ sauces, etc., that are quite good. I made some mustard with mustard seeds, vinegar, and some seasoning in my food processor.

    Traditionally, prior to the industrial age (& even prior to canning for preservation) most condiments were homemade and fermented (such as soy sauce, catsup, fish sauce, mustard, etc.), which is probably beyond what most people are willing to do now, but I have been finding it rather fun and sort of “scientific” to try some homemade fermented condiments. More information on making traditional fermented condiments such as catsup, mustard, etc., can be found in the cookbook Nourishing Traditions or at http://www.westonaprice.org (Weston A. Price Foundation).

    Cheers,
    Anna

  13. 15 pnuts mama June 21, 2007 at 5:57 pm

    yay for chocolate!! i will admit that i was talking about pastries/cake things like brownies/icecream when i said chocolate- when i do eat it straight i agree w/ you all that dark and quality is the way to go! i would recommend fairtrade “divine” dark chocolate- you can google it or get by clicking through CRS.org through their fairtrade market.

    thanks for the clarification on CS vs. HFCS vs. sugar. we try and limit the junk and processed stuff to begin with, but this can definitely be another filter for us when we *do* get stuff that is processed. i read somewhere that the less ingredients listed on the wrapper of something processed, the better. also i am pleased that so far the processed organic products we purchase haven’t had HFCS listed. thanks again!

  14. 16 Fairly Odd Mother June 22, 2007 at 2:54 am

    I’m reading The Omnivore’s Dilemma and am totally freaked out about this whole ‘corn’ obsession. I will definitely start reading the labels on things to try to eliminate HFCS as much as possible from our home.

  15. 17 Johschmoh June 22, 2007 at 5:32 am

    Reading over my husband’s shoulder, I noticed the tech-y types over at Digg are taking notice as well: there’s a link to an article titled, Why Americans Keep Getting Fatter “The USDA grossly underfunds the healthiest foods while pouring billions into a farm bill that supports many of the foods its dietary recommendations warn against.” Corn and HFCS are, of course, included.

  16. 18 Maggie918 June 28, 2007 at 12:18 am

    I have sworn of high fructose corn syrup for 2 months now and have dropped 25 pounds!!! Everyone chuckles when I tell them that that is the only change I’ve made. My husband started a low carb diet the same time I decided to eliminate HFCS and has not had any success. Now he’s going to give my way a try!!

  17. 19 Organic Lady August 14, 2007 at 1:15 am

    I just came back from a month in Switzerland (lucky me.) And one of many healthful things I noticed about the lifestyle there is that there is NO HIGH FRUCTOSE CORN SYRUP IN ANYTHING, even chocolate. That’s right, candy, sauces, bread, salad dressing, hot chocolate mix (no, it’s not called “Swiss Miss”) are all made with sugar or they aren’t sweet. Also, no hydrogenated oils in anything. Even brands (like Nestle, Lindt, and others that are Swiss-owned) that we have here contained none of the offensive stuff, while their American counterparts do.

    I visited every major area of Switzerland and found the people I met and spent time with to be nearly universally fit, polite, happy, active, toned, people with terrific skin (thanks in part to higher humidity than we have in the Mountain West) and positive outlooks. They seriously must average 95-125 pounds for women and 140-190 tops for men. I also saw no too-skinny-people. Think about it…

  18. 20 Izabael DaJinn October 6, 2007 at 4:14 am

    I just finished a bottle of Newman’s Own “Lightly Sparkling Blackberry” and on the front of the bottle in big letters says, “NO HIGH FRUCTOSE CORN SYRUP.”

    But as you pointed out it’s the #2 ingredient listed on the reverse side!! WTH? Is that even legal? I’m really disappointed in such a bald faced lie right next to Newman’s honest-looking face.

    Newman is a scam.

  19. 21 nedoona October 16, 2007 at 5:05 pm

    ive been doing the whole hfcs ban thing and it’s been hard, because i LOVE sweets. but one thing i found that is working quite well for me (and i know this might sound weird, but bare with me)is baby food. yes, just go to the baby food isle and they have all kinds of yummy fruits, desserts, etc, that have no hfcs and it tastes great. try the peach cobbler (amazing). just think of it as an alternative to yogurt, then it wont be so strange….

  20. 22 Trisha October 26, 2007 at 8:24 pm

    I’m thrilled with this post! My family and I swore off all HFCS products a few years ago, after moving to the U.S. from Canada. We discovered HFCS was omnipresent and ditched the purchase of all products containing it (did the same with products containing trans fats). I’m especially irked that it’s even in breads labeled “all-natural” — as if! Thanks for throwing out this challenge. I’d love it if someday food companies would eliminate it entirely (what do you think? Is there any hope?).
    Also wanted to mention how excited I am to have come across this site (and from a fellow WordPress blogger!). We share many a philosophy when it comes to feeding our kids. I’ll be visiting often!

  21. 23 Klip May 17, 2008 at 5:04 am

    I’m 31 years old. Was always as fit as can be. Still am.

    But for years, in my teens and early 20′s, I lived on soda. Mountain Dew mostly. About 4-5 cans per day.

    At 25 years old, I was diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes. My pancreas has completely shut down and stopped producing insulin. This is irreversible and I now must inject myself with insulin before every meal.

    Coincidence?

    In fact, I’d really like to talk to a good lawyer about it…
    But I know I’d be wasting my time :(

  22. 24 Klip May 17, 2008 at 5:05 am

    P.S: If anyone would like to discuss my issue further, email me:
    warrenrose1@gmail.com

  23. 25 jessica June 1, 2008 at 4:48 am

    Thanks for this post. Lately I’ve been craving sweets more and being thirstier and I was trying to figure out why–it really didn’t seem to be “emotional eating.” Just today I realized that recently I switched the brands of hummus and whole grain bread I use, in order to save money. I checked the ingredient listings on both, and they both have high-fructose corn syrup! Obviously I didn’t do a scientific study, but I can’t help but think my increased thirst and increased sugar cravings have to do with the recent adding of HFCS to my diet.

  24. 26 Barb June 16, 2008 at 1:49 am

    I have had IBS for 4yrs. I also have Metabolic Syndrome. I just read The Sugar Fix and I have been HFCS free for 1 week. I already feel better. I think I have been killing myself with HFCS.

  25. 27 idylewild June 22, 2008 at 10:17 pm

    I definitely agree we should all get off HFCS. I learned about hydrogenated oils over 12 years ago when studying to become a nurse & started watching for those. It is so nice they are leaving a lot of products. I think HFCS should be illegal because we have an epidemic of obesity & diabetes in this country.
    br
    s

  26. 28 Jack at F&B June 28, 2008 at 3:35 am

    Re: “Challenge #1:” – well, at Safeway. At Whole Foods, it’s quite hard to fine; just in Newman’s Own Lemonade (see, they’re not the good guys like they claim to be) and some Hansen’s sodas (who, I think, are finally going to phase HFCS out).

    If you swear off HFCS, as my wife and I did, oh, about 9 years ago, you still get it in things like catsup or English muffins at a restaurant.

    But, yes, Swear it Off!

  27. 29 Amy August 21, 2008 at 5:44 am

    Great article. Check out our products. They have no HFCS. Amy

    http://www.amyb.mywildtree.com

  28. 30 Amy September 3, 2008 at 4:10 pm

    This is a letter I wrote to the Corn Refiners Association after the July 2008 FDA ruling that HFCS is natural:

    It is funny that you (CRA) are feeling heady about this ruling. Your $30 million dollar ad campaign is a joke. You can fool some of the people some of the time, but you can’t fool all of the people all of the time. American’s in the health industry are WARNING their patients about HFCS. It happens everyday across America, in hundreds of medical offices. Your cat is out of the bag. HFCS is EVIL! You are promoting a chemical that is KILLING AMERICANS. How do you sleep at night? This is chemical warfare. You should be arrested. It is not “natural” and you know this. It is not “found” in nature, it is chemically processed. You paid the FDA. The FDA has very little funding from the government because industries like your “pay” the FDA under the guise of grants and research. I will still wear my “HFCS is Evil” to Publix and to public events. I have enjoyed educating several thousand people over the past 5 years about this evil. Good luck in your pathetic attempt to paint a smiley face on a devil.

  29. 31 Meg November 19, 2008 at 1:43 am

    Great Blog and Great Challenge! Due to medical reasons my family was forced to exclude HFCS and MSG from our diets. Talk about a challenge! We became very familiar with organic grocery stores and we have never looked back. We even use natural cleaners. We have really noticed a significant improvement in our health too. No more migraines, no more feeling tired or out of it, and no more sinus problems thanks to the natural cleaners. I have become so passionate about this topic I even started my own blog (the link above) and my own business mentoring others on how to go green. Check out my site: http://www.thegreebusinessteam.com I also market and recruit for Melaleuca, and I have to tell you their products have been real life savers! Well that’s my two cents, again great blog post!

  30. 32 Jeff April 29, 2009 at 5:42 pm

    Great article. I came down with gout last April/May and the dr. said to stop drinking beer and eating so much red meat. Well, I tried that (and consequently upped my intake of sodas and energy drinks), may gout did not subside. I started researching on WebMD and Wikipedia, and came across high fructose corn syrup as a possible cause. I’d never even thought about HCFS… it just seemed like a normal part of life.

    The stuff is in EVERYTHING and is EVIL!!! I immediately stopped drinking regular sodas like Coke and Dr. Pepper, started buying organic salad dressing and condiments, and actual juice w/o HCFS… surprise, my gout has been well under control, even with drinking about half as much beer as I used to. I still limit my red meat intake as well.

    I’ve recently also decided that even diet drinks and “zero” sodas are evil as well, saccharine and asperteme are right up there with HCFS. No more gout and my body feels great (I’ve even dropped a few pounds without really trying to work out!)

    Great article even though it’s a couple years old. Let’s continue to fight the good fight against processed sweeteners!

  31. 33 Nate May 21, 2009 at 2:47 pm

    In 2001 (I was 31) I was diagnosed with high cholesterol – 280 where 200 is considered high. I was about 30 pounds overweight but very active. I was offered the chance to lose as much weight as I could in 90 days and revisit the Dr. In that time I lost 30 pounds and got my cholesterol down to 225 (but with very high triglyceride count). I ate a lot of chicken, and carrots. I also ate a lot of apple sauce (HFCS) drank one soda a day (HFCS), and treated myself to cookies (HFCS, trans-fats) a couple of times a week to keep the sweet tooth at bay. On the weight side, it worked wonders and my cholesterol dropped a lot but I still needed medication. Shortly thereafter I lost my job (and insurance) then never revisited the topic.

    In 2005, my wife and I vowed to forego all HFCS and trans-fats in preparation for having children. I give blood fairly regularly (with Type O they never leave you alone!). I’m back to about 20 pounds overweight, slightly less active, but still fairly active. Other than the two above changes, I eat a little less red meat, a lot more eggs, and the exact same type of diet as before. My cholesterol drops about 10 points a year with no additional changes – I’m now in the 220 range. I’m nearly 40, my activity level is declining, I eat way more (free-range) eggs, and my cholesterol is DROPPING. Judging by what I’ve read on HFCS and fatty liver, this seems to add up.

    Cut them out. It’s not that hard at all. It’s a little more costly to get staples like bread and ketchup, but they really do taste better once you get used to the difference. And my health and my children’s health is very mcuh worth it. If I can stay off Lipitor-like drugs, that copay roughly covers the differences in cost in HFCS-free foods. Plus I feel better, and get to eat foods I enjoy, not foods I’m addicted to.

    Great site. Sorry for the long post, but I hope it helps someone.

  32. 34 Sunnyone May 29, 2009 at 3:56 pm

    Don’t forget the link between HFCS and mercury.

  33. 35 Ann June 14, 2009 at 5:25 pm

    I am happy to report that Newman’s Lemonade is not High Fructose Corn Syrup free. It even has it written right on the front of the box! Could it be from this blog???? Hmmmm….

  34. 37 ScaredofHFCS July 8, 2009 at 5:51 pm

    I found this site http://www.charleskiblinger.com/paul-newman-hfcs/ and it appears it was just a misprint. :)

  35. 38 Renee Bouvier December 15, 2009 at 10:40 pm

    I just wrote an e-mail message to the Haagan-Dazs ice cream and yogurt manufacturer to stop using corn syrup to sweeten its coffee flavored frozen yogurt. Why? All one can taste in its coffee yogurt is the sickenly sweet taste of the corn syrup. They might as well use lactulose or high levels of sorbitol. At least, my colon won’t back up with a high lactulose and/or sorbitol content. I find the taste of corn syrup not only offensive, but so very sickening. It’ like someone offering you corn syrup on your once-per-year Belgium waffle instead of the Vermont maple syrup. It’s offensive! Let the corn farmers find a new vocation like getting a college education in a field, which will actually benefit the society. Subsidize education — not corn farmers.

  36. 39 ClaudeA January 27, 2010 at 5:51 pm

    The following is a message I posted on the http://www.sprol.com high fructose corn syrup page. After years of digging into the why of our government, it is more than clear that bankers control every aspect of American life, pre-conception to grave maintenance.

    Bankers have just one agenda: make obscene profit.

    No self-respecting banker gives a rip about other people’s health, IF that involves cutting profit margin. Just look into Chase Bank owners’ personal and corporate histories, and all other bankers’ personal histories.

    No, ‘bankers’ does NOT mean local bank branch managers, nor even local banks. It DOES mean the money-controlling bankers, those who lobby Congress, steal other banks when they run onto hard times, like Washington Mutual forced take-over by Chase Manhattan, and those bankers who operate the Federal Reserve, own the IMF, and tell our Presidents what, and what NOT to do.

    “http://www.sprol.com/2005/10/high-fructose-corn-syrup/

    If anyone cares to dig into U.S. food industry realities, it becomes clear that food is never considered as a product of health issues, but only as a source of financial gain, the same as oil, steel, water, and anything produced by for-profit industry, including military weapons, buildings, and even education systems.

    For-profit is the key to every industrial decision. period. GMO-enhanced production is Only for the higher profit it yields, and never regarding any harmful effects, even those harms that will likely follow after years of producing the GMO-altered crops, animals, and other biological creatures.

    Bankers fund, and control industry. Bankers decide what industry to allow, and what industry will die-off. Natural foods, natural substances, natural products cannot be market-controlled by bankers, using such controls as patents and twisted legal laws that cut natural product producers out of the market. Bankers are greedy, and to make their greed pay the highest profit, they stoop to the lowest levels of human depravity to make the biggest ‘killings.’

    HFCS fall directly into the bankers’ panacea of exploited products. Its corn crop production is regulated by their government pawns, and its manufacturing process is controlled by the cost and complexity of the factories and chemical process that produces it. No small farm can afford to buy the equipment, and the massive storage and handling systems used to deliver HFCS to gigantic food production plants cannot be controlled by any small business.

    HFCS is a complete sell-out by banker-controlled government agencies, elected politicians, and food safety regulators, like the FDA. Bankers own FDA members and directors. The FDA takes all of its orders for food safety from bankers. Maybe not directly, but from bankers’ industry executives. Those persons the bankers assign as care-takers of their food-production businesses. Businesses such as Kellogg, Kraft, Schmucker, Post, General Mills, ConAgra Foods, and others. These all are finances and controlled by bankers.

    If 100 Million Americans would create a food co-op, and if every member would Not buy ANY product from each of the above group of banker-controlled businesses, then the bankers would listen to serious health-wise advice about what wholesome food actually is, and is not.

    But, will 100,000,000 Americans EACH actually NOT buy ANY product manufactured by ALL the businesses owned and controlled by bankers?

    The Internet would allow this, except that the bankers are now demanding that the Internet be closed down to any and all who dare expose their efforts to control manufacturing based on profits, NOT health and safety.

    The Internet is a very dangerous weapon of information that can and does hurt bankers’ profits. Bankers own and control many politicians, government agencies that control Internet use and access, and that are now, January 27, 2010, working to shut down Internet use and access for some forms of information, and users with intentions to expose banker and government corruption.

    Another factor that promotes HFCS production is the United Nations, another banker-owned governmental body. That groups’ purpose is to eventually, and very, very soon, eliminate much of Earth’s population, using disguises such as the W.H.O., now masked as a health-promotion agency. Remember the Medical Profession’s Hippocratic Oath? It states that a doctor will use ALL the skills of medicine he has gained to promote and heal Human Life. With both government-enforced pre-birth murdering, and murdering people who want to kill themselves for whatever reason, those doctors once ONLY using medicine for Human health are now required by law to use their skills for murder.

    Think about it. Research it. Then get angry, America. You will die if you don’t. And, even if you do, but don’t take action to stop the bankers.”

  37. 40 Travisoma March 24, 2010 at 1:22 am

    For Pamelotta and others who want to replace sugar in barbecue sauce! My husband was a Heinz snob and he says this is better.

    Homemade Ketchup
    • 6 ounces tomato paste
    • 1/3 cup cider vinegar
    • 1/3 cup water
    • 1 tablespoon of stevia (Herbal sweetener)
    • 2 tablespoons minced onions
    • 2 cloves garlic
    • 1 teaspoon salt
    • 1/8 teaspoon ground allspice
    • 1/8 teaspoon ground cloves
    • 1/8 teaspoon pepper
    Mix in blender or food processor – I use an immersion blender.

    Cocktail sauce

    • 1/2 teaspoon grated horseradish

  38. 41 Mattm March 24, 2010 at 7:18 pm

    Princeton Study on High-Fructose Corn Syrup
    http://www.princeton.edu/main/news/archive/S26/91/22K07/

    I saw this article on digg a few days ago and got interested in the whole HFCS issue (which led me here) and figured I would share.

    Enjoy.


  1. 1 AllMenus.com Blog » Blog Archive » Trader’s Joe’s: The Good, the Bad, and the Totally Doable Trackback on August 1, 2007 at 4:32 am
  2. 2 Pet Peeve: Vitamin Water, crystalline fructose, and a wee bit o’ my own hypocrisy « The Cleaner Plate Club Trackback on May 23, 2008 at 2:20 pm
  3. 3 the cook, the list, the wife and a lover » cribchronicles.com Trackback on May 30, 2008 at 2:28 pm
Comments are currently closed.



Archives


Crazy Hip Blog Mamas Web Ring

Join :: List :: Random

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

