Food bloggers, but not like me

A piece in yesterday’s Times featured food bloggers. “Aha!” I thought, when I saw the article’s title on the Times home page. “An article about my kind of people!” Turned out these food bloggers are not at all my kind of people. They are far more hip – the kind of person that sips mojitos while they interview celebrity chefs in Manhattan’s swankest restaurants. Myself? I could barely name a swank New York restaurant, let alone blog from one.

No, mine is a different world altogether. It is a world in which a child pulls at your pant leg while you whip up, despite your best intentions, your third batch of Annie’s mac and cheese this week. It is a world in which half-gnawed deer legs sometimes appear in your front yard. It is a world in which you smell like spit-up, sometimes forget to brush your hair, get Disney tunes stuck in your head, and must drive an hour and a half to get to the nearest Banana Republic.

Even if I showed up at Morimoto for a meal, my guess is the maitre d’ would take one look at my decidedly un-skinny jeans, the baby attached to my breast and the high-strung five year old wriggling by my side, and then barricade the door.

So I don’t go to restaurants, at least not often. I don’t blog reviews from my Blackberry. I don’t have a Blackberry, have never even held one. I can’t even get DSL (anyone else out there used dial up recently? It’s slow. No, I mean really slow).

But I’m different from these bloggers for another reason, as well. Their world is one in which food is elevated, complicated, and inaccessible if you’re not in the know. Me? I’m shooting for something different – one in which good food is mainstreamed, humbled, and made simple. They’re part of trendy food, while I’m trying to return to it’s more old fashioned roots – a family around a table eating something real for a change. It’s possible that they’ll someday be in my shoes: trying to serve up something healthy and edible to a cranky child who’s exhausted from dance classes and gymnastics moves and 3 hours of princess dress-up. I know I’ll never again be in their Marc Jacob pumps.

Anyhow, aside from putting my own life into sharper relief, some links on the article did steer me toward a couple of worthwhile sites: The ethicurean looks at the moral implications of our food choices, encouraging us to chew the right thing, and snack offers all the food news you can want, in convenient bite-sized morsels.

5 Responses to “Food bloggers, but not like me”


  1. 1 deborah February 6, 2007 at 1:07 pm

    oh finally a reality check on the food blogosphere. i hitched my food blog for a variety of reasons… and i think you’ve hit the nail on the head with this perspective.

  2. 2 Kristen February 21, 2007 at 5:38 pm

    Actually, the staff at Morimoto was very nice when we took out 4 year old there for lunch.

  3. 3 Ali February 21, 2007 at 7:17 pm

    I know I’ll never again be in their Marc Jacob pumps.

    Of course you’ll never again be in their Marc Jacob pumps. He hasn’t had any since 2005!

  4. 4 cleanerplateclub February 21, 2007 at 7:26 pm

    See how little I know? I’ve worn the same pair of Keens (the kind that look a little like bowling shoes) every day – no kidding. every. single. day. – for about 6 months.

    (do people still wear pumps? what DO they wear?)

  5. 5 Linda February 27, 2007 at 7:52 pm

    Great blog, Ali, even if I had to get the address from Molly. I made a New Year’s resolution to try new recipes, cook more, and eat less (if those are not mutually exclusive.) Trouble is Eric shares Blair’s tofu-phobia.

    And just where is this Banana Republic that’s only 90 minutes away?


Comments are currently closed.



Archives


Crazy Hip Blog Mamas Web Ring

Join :: List :: Random

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

